Volkswagen Scirocco Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Posted this on Central but thought some of you may find this useful. An easy little mod i did last week. Not to everyones taste but i love it, some much better than the plastic...

R32 Dash Trim and Storage Console Fitting instructions (to be followed at own risk - I'm no mechanic and will not be responsible for any damage you may do!)

Ok so here's the guide I promised. I've written this after fitting so some pics are with the R32 trim fitted, didn't take enough at the time as this was a bit of an exploratory process for me. I've also pinched some pics from other threads and OEM plus to help.

******Dash Trim******

What you'll Need for RHD Cars (Part Nos are what were on my packaging - double check these)

Tools:
A trim removal tool. I bought a few volvo OEM ones from ebay: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... 0311545350

Parts:
R32 Dash trim - RHD only
Passenger side Dash .....Part No 1K2 858 529 B 8B4
Drivers side dash (left of steering column) .....Part No 1K2 858 419 B 8B4
Drivers side dash (right of steering column) .....Part No 1K2 858 420 B 8B4

Cost of these parts was £108 incl VAT and postage. I bought them from VWspeed:
http://www.vwspeed.co.uk/volkswagen/vw- ... 31-22.html

Fitting:

Ok so the easiest way to do this is to check out the clips on the back of the parts your fitting

1. passenger side.

Insert the trim removal tool below the trim and gently lever out each of the 4 clips moving left to right. These can be seen in the pic below. They are located where the holes in the dash have metal sockets for the clips....

next simply push the replacement trim into place. Easy!

2. Drivers side - left

Trickiest part of the trim due to space.
Lower the steering column and the indicator stalk.